Will When in Manila Change My Life This Time?

I never intended to introduce myself in this blog.

Well, it’s been nearly two weeks since I graduated from college, and all I’m experiencing is some sort of quarter-life crisis. I’m getting that as soon as 2017 started. I knew I was already graduating from college; it’s just that I didn’t know what is next. Like, after graduation, I had zero things to look forward in my life.

Fast forward to now, and everyone else from my batch are sending in resumés and application forms to their potential employers. I didn’t. (Well I sent in some applications during the job fair in school and so far no one answered back) I can say that it’s because I wanted to rest for a while; but I also felt like I must take a different path. I don’t know. I just felt like I do not belong to a corporate world. But until then I did not know where to go next.

Then one night in June 4 came.

Will that be the beginning of a new life?

© @alexisanneq

By the way, I’m Maria Angelica. I’m 23, and a fresh graduate of Miriam College with a degree in Communication, minor in Digital Media Production.

I’m also a blogger and an aspiring filmmaker/YouTube creator/graphic designer/etc.

I am an enthusiast of popular culture, and I’m proud of it. I’m interested in film, television, music and travel.

I love travelling so much, that I’ve been to more than three places in 2017 alone.

Pililla Wind Farm, Pililla, Rizal, April 2017
Boso Boso Highland Resort, Antipolo, Rizal, April 2017
Club Punta Fuego, Nasugbu, Batangas, May 2017

The internet is like, paradise, to me, and I create a lot of content for it from the heart. I also value innovation and I would not hesitate to become different.

After graduating from college, I aspire to have a career in.. like I said, I’m having a quarter-life crisis. But that should not be the reason why I must pass the application for When in Manila.

If When in Manila is looking for someone enthusiastic and creative, I can be that person. Because When in Manila shares a very similar format to this blog I’m running, working for the website gives me a platform to do something I am passionate about. Isn’t it cool to attend events, interview celebrities and go to some random places here and there and write about all of them for your website?

Being a Digital Media Production graduate, I can do so much for When in Manila, and although I still have so much to learn, I believe that I am already skilled enough for this. By the way, did I tell you that I am actually signing up as a writing intern, graphics intern (hey look at the header image above! ↑) and videography intern?

I know this is initially designed for undergraduates, but that does not mean that I should not take this opportunity even as a graduate. Say for example, I know a thing or two about Adobe, but I am willing to learn more about the industry and gain more experience, and that’s the reason I’m signing up. I want to hone my skills in Digital Media Production through the website’s hands-on experience, which is necessary especially in improving this blog.

With that, I really hope that When in Manila will change my life. I joined because I realized that this is exactly what I wanted to do. I’m opening doors to a lot of opportunities that will come near me. There will be challenges, but I’m not afraid of them anymore because when accepted, I will be doing something I’m completely passionate about. I hope this would be the start of a new beginning. Like, this is it.

Leave a Reply

